Italian Rally championship: 109 entries for the Rally Il Ciocco

fb img 1710182577272.jpg

Very positive numbers for the first round of the CIAR. First race for Basso on Toyota, reigning champion Crugnola is the main favorite to win. Eyes also on De Tommaso, Mabellini, Avbelj, Campedelli and the local legend Andreucci. Intresting fight between manufacturers

The 47th Rally del Ciocco e Valle del Serchio, the first round of the CIAR Sparco 2024 and also valid for the 7th Zone Rally Cup, records a remarkable success with 109 entries and 36 Rally2 cars, promising an exciting competition for the title.

At the top of the list, we find the reigning champions Crugnola-Ometto, ready to defend their title aboard the Citroen C3 equipped with Pirelli tires. Close behind is the Toyota GR Yaris Rally2, making its debut in the CIAR, driven by the experienced duo Basso-Granai, and the Hyundai Rally Team Italia with the Hyundai i20 rally2 equipped with Michelin tires, entrusted to Sicilian Nucita and navigator Pollet. There is also anticipation for the CIAR debut of the MRF team with a Skoda Fabia RS entrusted to the young couple Mabellini-Lenzi, already active in the FIA ERC.

Among the notable returns in the Italian Absolute Rally Championship are Paolo Andreucci (Citroen C3 rally2), Simone Campedelli (Skoda Fabia RS rally2), and Marco Signor (Skoda Fabia RS rally2). Making their debut in the tricolor series are Roberto Daprà, who will split between CIAR and WRC2, Nicola Sartor, and the young Mattia Scandola.

Confirming their presence in the championship are the slovenian Avbelj (Skoda Fabia), De Tommaso (Citroen C3 rally2), the Tuscan Rudy Michelini (Skoda Fabia), and Luca Bottarelli.

Among the female crews, three are ready to take to the track with Rally2 cars: Rachele Somaschini (Citroen C3 rally2), Sara Carra, and Arianna Doriguzzi (both on Skoda Fabia).

Finally, there are great challenges ahead for the 2WD cars, with Gianandrea Pisani called upon to defend the title won last year from the attacks of his rivals such as Di Pietro, Cambiaghi, and Lucchesi.