ERC: 96 entries at Rally Islas Canarias

60959e8d8c34f5c00b9627dfd768f462 xl

33 crews will start in rally2 with a dozen possible favorites for the overall victory, five Italian crews at the start.

Record numbers for the 48th Rally Islas Canarias. The Spanish event, valid as the second round of the European Rally Championship and the third of the Spanish Rally Super Championship (S-CER), has 96 entrants (representing 19 nationalities) and a total of 33 rally2 cars.

Hayden Paddon and John Kennard will have the task of “wearing” the number one on the sides of their Hyundai i20 rally2. The New Zealand driver, who finished fourth at the recent Rally Hungary, will certainly be seeking redemption on the difficult abrasive asphalt of the Canary Islands. Among the other contenders for the overall victory, we find the French duo Yoann Bonato (Citroen C3 rally2) and Mathieu Franceschi (Skoda Fabia RS rally2), Norwegian Mads Ostberg (Citroen C3 rally2), Latvian Martins Sesks (Toyota Yaris GR rally2), Italian Andrea Mabellini with Virginia Lenzi (Skoda Fabia RS rally2) and Russian Alexey Lukyanuk (Hyundai i20 rally2).

The eyes of local fans will be on the large group of Iberian drivers competing in the race, from Efren Llarena (Skoda Fabia RS rally2) to José Antonio Suarez (Skoda Fabia RS rally2) and Luis Monzon (Citroen C3 rally2), Alejandro Cachon (Toyota Yaris GR rally2), Oscar Palomo (Hyundai i20 rally2) and Diego Ruiloba (Citroen C3 rally2). Among the other entrants with rally2 category cars we also find Austrian Simon Wagner (Skoda Fabia RS rally2), Hungarian Martin Lazsko (Skoda Fabia RS rally2), British Philip Allen (Hyundai i20 rally2) and Giacomo Costenaro with Justin Bardini on Skoda Fabia rally2 evo.

In ERC3, a two-way battle is shaping up between Turkish Kerem Kazan and Polish Igor Widlak, while the fight among two-wheel drive entries looks competitive with fourteen entrants in FIA ERC Junior and sixteen in FIA ERC4. All the big names in the championship are present, starting with British Max McRae (Peugeot 208 rally4) and Swedish Mille Johansson (Opel Corsa rally4), Italy will be represented by Mattia Zanin – Elia De Guio, Ermanno Nerobutto – Alessio Angeli and Davide Pesavento and Matteo Zaramella, all competing in a Peugeot 208 rally4.