68 crews registered for Croatia Rally

fb img 1711374438523.jpg

Sixty-eight crews will participate in the Croatia Rally, setting a new record among WRC3 entrants.

The Croatia Rally, the fourth event of the WRC Championship and the second of the FIA WRC Junior, is set to ignite the racing circuits with a remarkable increase in participation. With sixty-eight crews gearing up to compete, this edition boasts a significant rise from the fifty-five starters of the previous year, promising a thrilling spectacle for motorsport enthusiasts worldwide.

In the rally1 category, titans Toyota and Hyundai lead the charge, each deploying three formidable cars, while M-Sport revs up with two Ford Puma rally1 cars. A highlight of the event is the highly anticipated comeback of the eight-time world champion, Sébastien Ogier, who joins Toyota alongside Takamoto Katsuta and Elfyn Evans. Hyundai Motorsport presents a formidable trio comprising Thierry Neuville, Ott Tänak, and Andreas Mikkelsen, while M-Sport is represented by the dynamic duo of Adrien Fourmaux and Gregorie Munster.

Meanwhile, the rally2 category sees twenty-five cars in contention, with twenty enlisted for the WRC2 battle. Renowned drivers such as Nikolay Gryazin, Yoann Rossel, and Gus Greensmith gear up to navigate the challenging terrain aboard Citroën C3 and Skoda Fabia RS rally2. Notably, the return of Scandinavian sensation Oliver Solberg in the upcoming rounds of Portugal and Sardinia adds to the excitement of the competition.

Among the diverse pool of participants, notable names include Pepe Lopez from Spain, Lauri Joona from Finland, Armin Kremer from Germany, and Italian contenders Mauro Miele and Luca Beltrame. The Hyundai i20 rally2 brigade features Nicolas Ciamin from France, Finnish ace Emil Lindholm, and Dutch driver Henk Vossen. Additionally, the lineup features four Toyota Yaris GR rally2 cars, piloted by the likes of Sami Pajari and Georg Linnamae.

Italy asserts its presence with several crews vying for victory in the rally2 category, including Roberto Daprà and Luca Guglielmetti, Maurizio Chiarani and Flavio Zanella, Filippo Marchino and Pietro Elia Ometto, and Enrico Brazzoli and Martina Musiari. The RC3 class witnesses a surge in participation, with twenty-five contenders in the fray, twenty-four of whom are gunning for glory in the WRC3 championship and eighteen in the J-WRC.

In the RC4 category, nine entrants prepare to showcase their prowess, including Italian drivers Matteo Fontana and Alessandro Arnaboldi, armed with the Peugeot 208 Rally4.

As anticipation mounts and engines roar to life, the Croatia Rally promises to deliver adrenaline-fueled action, showcasing the grit, skill, and determination of drivers as they navigate challenging terrains and vie for supremacy in one of motorsport’s most prestigious competitions.